Global Dementia Scale

The Global Deterioration Scale (GDS) identifies the level of cognitive function of people living with Alzheimer’s and other dementias. The Global Deterioration Scale, developed by Dr. Barry Reisberg, is also referred to as the Reisberg Scale or the Global Dementia Scale.

Administered by

  • Trained Clinicians

Functions Tested

  • Cognitive functions assessed include
    • Memory
    • Learning
    • Communication
    • Sleep
    • Physical function
    • Mental function
    • Social function

Interpreting Results

  • Cognitive function is divided into seven (7) stages.
    • Stages 1-3 are the pre-dementia stages.
    • Stages 4-7 are the dementia stages.


Reisberg B, Ferris SH, de Leon MJ, Crook T. The Global Deterioration Scale for assessment of primary degenerative dementia. Am J Psychiatry. 1982 Sep;139(9):1136-9. PMID 7114305